The perfect time for TOEFL (writing)

Happy Friday TOEFL Insiders;

Here is your weekly summary of tips and resources in the TOEFL® world.

But first up, the next round of group classes is starting Monday, November 23rd.

Each class is maxed out at 8 students so we make sure each one of you gets the attention you need for the score you want.

Speaking Group Classes:

  • Group B: Mon & Thur – 3 pm EST / 2 pm CST, beginning November 23rd
  • Group C: Mon & Thur – 7 pm EST / 6 pm CST, beginning November 23th

Learn more about the Group Classes for the Listening Section of the TOEFL® Test.

Writing Group Classes:

  • Mon & Thur – 8:30 pm EST / 7:30 pm CST, beginning November 23th

Learn more about the Group Classes for the Writing Section of the TOEFL® Test.

Listening Group Classes:

  • Sun & Wed – 6 pm EST / 5 pm CST, beginning December 2nd

Learn more about the Group Classes for the Reading Section of the TOEFL® Test.

If you have any questions, you can always contact our Head of Communications, Marina, at [email protected]

TOEFL News

Just in case you haven’t heard, the TOEFL Home Edition registration has been extended to January 31st, 2021, and might in fact last longer, depending on the pandemic.

You can read more about it from ETS here

 

And the holiday season is coming up, which means… BLACK FRIDAY SALE. Expect an announcement next week, but if you have been waiting to enroll in private lessons, this will be the day to do it (even if you won’t start until 2021). Keep a sharp eye on your inbox on Friday, November 27th.

TOEFL Tips

Here’s a tip from Todd Stuchiner, one of our TOEFL Teachers.

Most TOEFL students never learn how to manage their time for the TOEFL® Writing section.

This is a HUGE mistake, especially when you only have 20 minutes to write your integrated essay and 30 minutes to write your independent.

Here’s the time breakdown for the Integrated Writing:

  • 0-1 minute – Organize and outline
  • 2-4 minutes – Write your introduction
  • 5-15 minutes – Write 2x-3x body paragraphs
  • 16-17 minutes – Write your conclusion
  • 18-19 minutes – Edit your essay

And for the Independent Writing:

  • 0-2 minutes – Organize and outline
  • 3-7 minutes – Write your introduction
  • 8-24 minutes – Write 2x body paragraphs
  • 25-26 minutes – Write your conclusion
  • 27-29 minutes – Edit your essay

You can find more powerful tips just like this at our article Ten Awesome Writing Tips for the TOEFL® Test.

And if you want some help from a TOEFL Writing expert, try a trial lesson with me.

I can identify your strengths, weaknesses, and what you must do to improve.

– Todd

TOEFL Resources

If you are looking to learn another foreign language or just want to build your English skills (without the dreaded TOEFL), check out iTalki.

They have teachers from all over the world teaching dozens of languages and some even offer their services for free! They have literally thousands of teachers to choose from, so you might find the additional help you are looking for at iTalki.

Stay safe and good luck!

Comment below or reply to the original email if you want to get in touch.

We are here to help you get your TOEFL score as quickly and easily as possible.

— Josh MacPherson
Head Instructor at TST Prep

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

---

---